Optometry Scholarships
A short list of awards we could confirm on the sponsor's own page. Each entry shows the source and the date we checked it. When a page doesn't state an amount or deadline, we say so instead of guessing.
No sponsor paid to be listed. Three of the four awards below are for students already enrolled, so the list for applicants is short. For tuition and aid by school, see the school database, the Pay Less guide and the federal loan cap guide.
For Applicants and Pre-Optometry Students
-
AOA/AOSA Opportunities in Optometry Grant
AOA Foundation · For applicants
- Who Can Apply
- Students from underrepresented groups (African American/Black, Hispanic/Latino, Native American/Alaskan Native, or Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander) who are in a four-year U.S. program or have finished a degree with the optometry prerequisites, and plan to apply to optometry school within 12 months.
- Amount
- Multiple grants of $1,500 each each year; the number of awards is not stated.
- Deadline
- May 1 and December 1
A 2.75 GPA is suggested. Current optometry students and past recipients are not eligible. Review can take up to 60 days after a deadline, pending funding.
Source: AOA Foundation, Opportunities in Optometry. Last checked Oct 26, 2026.
For Enrolled Optometry Students
-
Dr. Seymour Galina Scholarship
AOA Foundation · For enrolled students
- Who Can Apply
- A third-year optometry student whose essay highlights qualities developed through financial planning and work experience.
- Amount
- Not stated on the sponsor's page
- Deadline
- Not stated on the sponsor's page
The sponsor says the 2027 application is open. Amount and deadline are not stated on the page we checked.
Source: AOA Foundation, optometry student scholarships. Last checked Oct 26, 2026.
-
Silhouette Scholarship
AOA Foundation, with Silhouette · For enrolled students
- Who Can Apply
- Optometry students who show a commitment to sustainability and environmentally responsible practices in eye care.
- Amount
- Not stated on the sponsor's page
- Deadline
- Not stated on the sponsor's page
The sponsor says the 2027 application is open. Amount, class year and deadline are not stated on the pages we checked.
Source: AOA Foundation, optometry student scholarships. Last checked Oct 26, 2026.
-
Indian Health Service Health Professions Scholarship (Scholarship 104)
Indian Health Service · For enrolled students
- Who Can Apply
- Members of federally recognized Tribes enrolled in a doctoral program. Optometry is listed.
- Amount
- Not stated on the sponsor's page
- Deadline
- The 2025–26 chart says students must be enrolled in the program by August 1, 2025. The current cycle's date is not confirmed.
Requires at least two years of service in an IHS-approved position at an approved site, plus one year for each year of support after that minimum.
Source: IHS, 2025–2026 Scholarship Comparison Chart. Last checked Oct 26, 2026.
Not Listed Yet
- Military Health Professions Scholarship Program for optometry (Army, Navy, Air Force): not listed because we could not read an official optometry page to confirm the terms. Ask a recruiter and the program's official page.
- State and school-specific awards: each school's financial aid page lists its own. The school pages and the Pay Less guide cover state programs.
Know an award we should check? Send it to us with the sponsor's page. Last checked Oct 26, 2026. Amounts and deadlines change each cycle, so confirm with the sponsor before you apply.